The selection process of the 10 pre-finalists of the AfricTivistes Civic Action Prize began on July 16, 2021, the closing date for nominations. At the end of the process, the selection committee, composed of AfricTivistes' partners, selected the following profiles:

  • Adams Cassinga, Founder of Conserv Congo, RDC;
  • Divine Ingabire, Founder and Executive Director of I Matter Initiative, Rwanda;
  • Fibanda Brotry, Founder of the Wezesha Young Farmers initiative, Kenya;
  • Mamadou Diakhaté, Founder of the Simple Action Citoyenne association, Senegal;
  • Fatouma Harber, Co-founder of SankoréLabs, Mali;
  • Laetitia Carelle Goli, Founder of the Women’s Political Academy, Côte d’Ivoire;
  • Muazu Alhaji Modu, Founder of Spotlight for Transparency and Accountability initiative, Nigeria;
  • Hamzat Bala Lawal, Founder of Connected Development (CODE), Nigeria;
  • Idris Bilyaminu Ndasadu'Lau, Founder of YAPD4Africa, Nigeria;
  • Djamila Boubacar Sahabi, Founder of Actu Magazine & Nissa Pad, Niger.

The selection committee of the AfricTivistes Prize considers that these 10 pre-finalists have the best projects with high social impact.


For the next step, these selected candidates will compete through a public vote on the dedicated platform:

There will be 2 vote phases. A first phase of public vote will be opened to allow the 10 candidates and their teams to campaign with the hashtag #AfricTivistesPrize. Voting will start on Monday, October 11, 2021 at 6pm GMT and will end on Friday, October 22, 2021 at 6pm GMT. 


At the same time as the second phase of vote is an institutional jury composed of AfricTivistes partners that will be in charge of selecting the 5 finalists based on set criteria and their own judgment. The scoring of the members of this jury represents 40% and the public vote represents 60% of the final outcome of this stage. 


The 5 selected champions will participate in the 3rd AfricTivistes Summit scheduled for November 11-13, 2021 in Abidjan where the AfricTivistes Civic Action Prize will be awarded.


A second public vote, which will put the 5 finalists in competition, will begin on November 1, 2021 and will end the day before the Summit, on November 10, 2021. This vote represents 60% of the final result. A final jury, representing 40% and composed of the 2 former recipients of the 2018 Anna Gueye Award and representatives of the different regions of Africa, will choose the winner.


The AfricTivistes Civic Action Prize will be awarded to the most outstanding young African with the best project, along with US$10,000, computer and electronic equipment, a scholarship and grants to replicate their project model or initiative in other African countries. 


The winner will also benefit from exchange programmes with our network of partners in Africa and Europe. As for the four remaining finalists, they will each receive US$ 1,500 as well as computer and electronic equipment, and they will also benefit from a number of advantages as the winner.


As role models for their respective communities, the finalists will also participate in the side events of the 3rd summit and will be able to collaborate with the various partners of AfricTivistes who are expected to attend this continental meeting.


The AfricTivistes Civic Action Prize is dedicated to the youth of the 54 countries of the African continent, aged 40 years or less. After the launch of the Prize on June 03, 2021, anyone had the possibility to nominate the candidate of their choice according to the criteria established for innovative projects with strong social or community impact.


At the end of the nominations on July 16, 2021, 337 people from 21 African countries were registered. 86 people were shortlisted after a first screening (based on those who met the basic requirements). Out of the 86, only 18 women were nominated, a percentage of 20.93%.